2022 Drama League Award Winners

Sutton Foster, Benjamin Pajak, Hugh Jackman, and the cast of Broadway’s The Music Man. Photo Credit: Julieta Cervantes

Drama League Award Winners Announced

Sutton Foster Earns Distinguished Performance Award

The Drama League announced the winners of the 2022 Drama League Awards on May 20. The in-person ceremony took place at the Ziegfield Ballroom and was hosted by the wonderful Frank DiLella with the magnificent Patti LuPone, Sutton Foster, Ben Vereen Shoshana Bean, Gabby Beans, and Lear deBessonet present to announce the awards.

Sutton Foster was also one of the winners, being awarded the Distinguished Performance Award for her work in The Music Man; this well-respected honor can only be won once during the career of an actor.

First awarded in 1922 and formalized in 1935, The Drama League Awards are the oldest theatrical honors in America. They are the only major theater awards chosen by a cross-section of the theater community—specifically, by the industry professionals, producers, artists, audiences, and critics who are Drama League members nationwide. This year’s ceremony will see the inaugural nominees in two new categories: Outstanding Direction of a Play and Outstanding Direction of a Musical.

The full list of nominations can be found below, with the winners in bold. 

Adam Godley, Simon Russell Beale, and Adrian Lester in The Lehman Trilogy New York, 2021 Photo Credit: Julieta Cervantes

Outstanding Production of a Broadway or Off-Broadway Play



Dana H.



The Lehman Trilogy – WINNER

Merry Wives

The Minutes

POTUS: Or, Behind Every Great Dumbass are Seven Women Trying to Keep Him Alive

Prayer for the French Republic

Selling Kabul

Outstanding Revival of a Broadway or Off-Broadway Play

American Buffalo

Cyrano De Bergerac

for colored girls who have considered suicide/when the rainbow is enuf

How I Learned to Drive

Long Day’s Journey Into Night

Skeleton Crew

The Skin of Our Teeth

Take Me Out – WINNER

Trouble in Mind

L Morgan Lee(Thought 1), Jason Veasey (Thought 5), John-Andrew Morrison (Thought 4), Jaquel Spivey (Usher), John-Michael Lyles(Thought 3), James Jackson, Jr. (Thought 2), Antwayn Hopper(Thought 6) in Broadway’s A STRANGE LOOP at the Lyceum Theatre, NY. Photo by Marc J. Franklin.

Outstanding Production of a Broadway or Off-Broadway Musical

David Byrne’s American Utopia

The Hang

Kimberly Akimbo

MJ The Musical

Mr. Saturday Night

Mrs. Doubtfire

Oratorio For Living Things


A Strange Loop – WINNER


Katrina Lenk (center) and the company of Company on Broadway. Photo by Matthew Murphy.

Outstanding Revival of a Broadway or Off-Broadway Musical


Company – WINNER

Caroline, Or Change

Funny Girl

The Music Man

Outstanding Direction of a Play

Knud Adams, English
Saheem Ali, Merry Wives
Stori Ayers, Confederates
Camille A. Brown, for colored girls who have considered suicide/when the rainbow is enuf
Matthew Dunster, Hangmen
Jamie Lloyd, Cyrano De Bergerac
Sam Mendes, The Lehman Trilogy
Tyne Rafaeli, Selling Kabul
Taylor Reynolds, Tambo & Bones
Les Waters, Dana H.
Kate Whoriskey, Clyde’s – WINNER

Brittney Mack (Anna of Cleves, center) with (l-r) Anna Uzele (Catherine Parr), Abby Mueller (Jane Seymour), Andrea Macasaet (Anne Boleyn), & Adrianna Hicks (Catherine of Aragon) in Six. Photo Credit: Joan Marcus ©

Outstanding Direction of a Musical

John Doyle, Assassins
Marianne Elliott, Company – WINNER
Lee Sunday Evans, Oratio for Living Things
Michael Mayer, Funny Girl
Lucy Moss and Jamie Armitage, Six
Leigh Silverman, Suffs
Niegel Smith, The Hang
Christopher Wheeldon, MJ The Musical
Jerry Zaks, The Music Man

Victoria Clark in Atlantic Theater Company’s Kimberly Akimbo. Photo by Ahron R. Foster.

Nominees for the Distinguished Performance Award

Uzo Aduba, Clyde’s

Simon Russell Beale, The Lehman Trilogy

Shoshana Bean, Mr. Saturday Night

Gabby Beans, The Skin of Our Teeth

Victoria Clark, Kimberly Akimbo

Sharon D Clarke, Caroline, Or Change

Billy Crystal, Mr. Saturday Night

Matt Doyle, Company

Rachel Dratch, POTUS: Or, Behind Every Great Dumbass Are Seven Women Trying To Keep Him Alive

Edie Falco, Morning Sun

Tyler Fauntleroy, Tambo & Bones

Beanie Feldstein, Funny Girl

Jesse Tyler Ferguson, Take Me Out

Hugh Jackman, Sutton Foster, and the cast of Broadway’s The Music Man. Photo Credit: Julieta Cervantes

Sutton Foster, The Music Man – WINNER

Myles Frost, MJ The Musical

Adrianna Hicks, Six

Marin Ireland, Morning Sun

Nikki M. James, Suffs

Ron Cephas Jones, Clyde’s

Joaquina Kalukango, Paradise Square

Chilina Kennedy, Joaquina-Kalukango, and Ensemble in Broadway’s Paradise Square. Photo by ©Kevin-Berne

LaChanze, Trouble in Mind

L Morgan Lee, A Strange Loop

Jane Lynch, Funny Girl

Taylor Mac, The Hang

Brittney Mack, Six

Ebony Marshall-Oliver, 7 Minutes

Elizabeth Marvel, Long Day’s Journey Into Night

James McAvoy, Cyrano de Bergerac

Rob McClure, Mrs. Doubtfire

Kenita R. Miller, for colored girls who have considered suicide/when the rainbow is enuf

Bonnie Milligan, Kimberly Akimbo

David Morse, How I Learned to Drive

Deirdre O’Connell in Dana H. Photographed at Lyceum Theatre in Manhattan. CREDIT: CHAD BATKA

Deirdre O’Connell, Dana H.

Sarah Jessica Parker, Plaza Suite

Phylicia Rashad, Skeleton Crew

Ruben Santiago-Hudson, Lackawanna Blues

Arturo Luis Soria, Ni Mi Madre

Jaquel Spivey, A Strange Loop

Cecily Strong, The Search for Signs of Intelligent Life in the Universe

Will Swenson, Assassins

Julie White, POTUS: Or, Behind Every Great Dumbass Are Seven Women Trying To Keep Him Alive

Jesse Williams, Take Me Out

Michelle Wilson, Confederates

David Morse and Mary-Louise Parker in How I Learned to Drive at MTC’s Samuel J. Friedman Theatre. Photo by Jeremy Daniel (2022)

The Drama League also acknowledges previous recipients who appeared in Broadway or Off-Broadway productions this season. As the award can only be won once in a performer’s lifetime, they are ineligible to be nominated again.

Hugh Jackman, The Music Man

Patti LuPone, Company

Mary-Louise Parker, How I Learned to Drive

As previously reported, this year’s honorees include: 

Mr. Saturday Night star and creator Billy Crystal

The Music Man star Hugh Jackman

Lincoln Center Theater Resident Director Lileana Blain-Cruz

Tony Award-winning producer Willette Murphy Klausner.

Crystal was presented with the Contribution to the Theater Award for his extraordinary work on stages across the country and commitment to mentorship in the field. Jackman received the Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theater Award for his outstanding work on stage and in film. Blain-Cruz was honored with the Founders Award for Excellence in Directing. Klausner was honored with the Gratitude Award.

The Company of POTUS at Broadway’s Shubert Theatre. Photo by Paul Kolnik.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s