2023 Chita Rivera Award Winners (and Nominations) Announced

The Company of Bob Fosse’s DANCIN’ at The Music Box Theatre. Photo by Julieta Cervantes

Chita Rivera Award Winners Announced

Winners of the 2023 Chita Rivera Award were announced at a ceremony held on May 21st at the NYU Skirball Center for the Performing Arts. Hosted by Jared Grimes (Funny Girl), the winners of the 2023 Chita Rivera Awards recognized excellence in dance and choreography on Broadway, Off-Broadway, and in film. For the first time this year, three winners received awards in the now gender-free category of Outstanding Dancer in a Broadway Show.

In keeping with the mission of the Chita Rivera Awards, nominators considered shows and films that opened during the 2022-2023 theater season. A Beautiful Noise: The Neil Diamond Musical, New York, New York, and Bob Fosse’s Dancin’ were the big winners at the 2023 Chita Rivera Awards, with A Beautiful Noise: The Neil Diamond Musical winning numerous awards for Outstanding Choreography in a Broadway Show as well as awards for Robyn Hurder and Jess LeProtto both for Outstanding Dancer in a Broadway Show. Mattie Love, a dancer in Bob Fosse’s Dancin’ also was given an award for Outstanding Dancer in a Broadway Show. Bob Fosse’s Dancin’ and New York, New York sharing the Outstanding Ensemble in a Broadway Show award.

Will Swenson and cast in A Beautiful Noise at the Broadhurst Theatre. Photo by Matthew Murphy.

At the Awards ceremony, John Kander received the Lifetime Achievement Award, and BroadwayHD, founded by Bonnie Comley and Stewart F. Lane, received the Ambassadors For The Arts Award.

The mission of the Chita Rivera Awards is to celebrate dance and choreographic excellence, preserve notable dance history, and recognize past, present, and future talents while promoting high standards in dance education and investing in the next generation.

Nominators considered outstanding choreography, featured dancers, and ensemble in shows on Broadway and Off-Broadway, as well as outstanding choreography in film, that opened in the 2022-2023 season. Nominations for the productions under consideration this season will be determined by the designated nominating committee. There are separate nominating committees for Broadway, Off-Broadway, and Film. There is also an awarding committee for Broadway, which determines the final nominations that are received from the Broadway nominations committee.

Winners are in bold, notated by **



New York, New York – Cast – Photo by Paul Kolnik.

**Steven Hoggett, A Beautiful Noise: The Neil Diamond Musical**

Casey Nicholaw, Some Like It Hot

Susan Stroman, New York, New York

Jennifer Weber, & Juliet

Robyn Hurder and cast in A Beautiful Noise at the Broadhurst Theatre. Photo by Julieta Cervantes.

Clyde Alves, New York, New York

Peter John Chursin, Bob Fosse’s Dancin’

Dylis Croman, Bob Fosse’s Dancin’

J. Harrison Ghee, Some Like It Hot

Jacob Guzman, Bob Fosse’s Dancin’

**Robyn HurderA Beautiful Noise: The Neil Diamond Musical**

Kolton Krouse, Bob Fosse’s Dancin’

**Jess LeProttoA Beautiful Noise: The Neil Diamond Musical**

**Mattie LoveBob Fosse’s Dancin’**

Khori Michelle Petinaud, Bob Fosse’s Dancin’

Bob Fosse’s DANCIN’ at The Music Box Theatre. Photo by Julieta Cervantes

& Juliet

A Beautiful Noise: The Neil Diamond Musical

**Bob Fosse’s Dancin’**

**New York, New York**

Some Like It Hot                    



The Awarding Committee of the 2023 Chita Rivera Awards will celebrate excellence in Off-Broadway musical theater by presenting these special awards.  

Outstanding Dancers in an Off-Broadway Show

           Gaby DiazOnly Gold

           Ryan SteeleOnly Gold

Outstanding Choreography in an Off-Broadway Show

           Andy BlankenbuehlerOnly Gold


Babylon, Choreographer: Mandy Moore

Magic Mike’s Last Dance, Choreographer: Luke Broadlick

Roald Dahl’s Matilda The Musical, Choreographer: Ellen Kane

Spirited, Choreographer: Chloe Arnold

**13: The Musical, Choreographer: Jamal Sims**


Broadway Rising, Director: Amy Rice

**Everybody Dance, Director: Dan Watt**

Moonage Daydream, Director: Brett Morgen

Awarding Committee

Chair: Sylviane Gold, Gary Chryst, Robert LaFosse, Donna McKechnie, Wendy Perron, and Lee Roy Reams

Broadway Nominating Committee

Chair: Wendy Federman, Melinda Atwood, Caitlin Carter, Gary Chryst, Don Correia, Jamie deRoy, Sandy Duncan, Peter Filichia, Dr. Louis Galli, Sylviane Gold, Jonathan Herzog, Jim Kierstead, Robert La Fosse, Joe Lanteri, Donna McKechnie, Michael Milton, Mary Beth O’Connor, Wendy Perron, Lee Roy Reams, Andy Sandberg, and Randy Skinner

Film Nominating Committee

Chair: Jonathan C. Herzog, Steven Caras, Wilhelmina Frankfurt, Mary Beth O’Connor, and Andy Sandberg

The NYC Dance Alliance Foundation College Scholarship Program will be the beneficiary of the event. Since the inception of the NYC Dance Alliance Foundation, 4 million dollars have been awarded to over 400 dancers represented in 42 of the most prestigious college dance programs in the country.

*  *  *

Tickets for the Chita Rivera Awards are currently on sale and can be purchased at www.ChitaRiveraAwards.com. Ticket prices are as follows: $125 for a balcony ticket to the Awards ceremony, $600 for an orchestra ticket to the Awards ceremony and admission to the pre-show red carpet cocktail party and VIP reception, and $6000 for 10 Orchestra tickets to the Awards ceremony, admission for 10 to the pre-show red carpet cocktail party & 1 table at the VIP reception.

New York, New York – Cast – Photo by Paul Kolnik.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s